Publishing Trendsetter is a production of Market Partners International and Publishing Trends.

Tag Archives: German

Top 5 Publishing News Stories 5/18-5/22

Every week we recommend 5 publishing news stories that young book professionals should read to feel more connected to what’s going on in the industry. There are only 5, so even if you weren’t able to read a thing all week, these should help keep you in the know. Audible is reportedly pressuring German publishers during contract negotiations. The MacDowell Colony announced a new retreat fellowship for diverse writers. Writers and translators found a way around censorship in Iran by publishing their work on the internet. OverDrive launched OverDrive Listen, a web app that lets […]

Profiles in Publishing: Karl Baedeker

Name: Karl Baedeker Birthdate/Place: November 3rd 1801, Essen, Germany Publisher Associated With: Baedeker Claim to Fame: Oldest of ten children, he inherited the publishing company created by his grandfather in 1784. He worked as a bookseller while studying humanities in Heidelberg  before military service. He moved to Koblenz and established his own bookselling and publishing business in 1827 at only 25 years old. Later to become commonly known as “the father of modern tourism,” the company published travel guide books that uniquely included every detail a tourist needed for a successful venture. He […]

Publishing the World Gathers Fans of Translation, Cross-Cultural Dialogue, and Other Buzz-words

Since we got so many enthusiastic responses to Rachel’s great write-up of Samantha Steele last week, we thought we’d give you another peek into further developments for young folk wanting to pursue a career in translation or foreign rights. On a balmy evening last week, around 50 young book-biz folk and other noteworthies gathered in the courtyard of a Soho bar to celebrate the launch of Publishing the World. The undertaking is a joint venture between the German Book Office and the French Publishers Agency, hosted by Brittany Hazelwood on […]